Sunny Day

Today was a great day.  Munchkin and I went to her school for the Spring Workday.  We pulled weeds, filled sandboxes, pulled toys over to be power-washed, chased the kiddos, tasted a concoction of snowcone syrup that only MY five year old could come up with (yuck) and lots of other stuff.  My shoulders are sore from lifting 50 lb bags of sand.  But it’s a good tired.

After the workday, we went over to Miller Park where they were having a festival for the “week of the early child.”  They had little games (which were cute), a bounce house and free hotdogs.  It was mainly daycare centers and churches.  It was fun. 

The weather was gorgeous.  Not a cloud in the sky.  It was warm and breezy.  A very nice spring day. 

I met the mom of one of Munchkin’s school friends.  They met us at Miller Park and it was nice to have another mom to talk to while the girls played. 

I’m thinking of having a party for Munchkin before school is out.  It’s so hard to have birthday parties on her birthday b/c she just started school and she didn’t really know any of her classmates yet.  So, I think we’ll have an Alice in Wonderland “Unbirthday” party.  A teaparty, of course.  Here is a wickedly clever blog with some amazing pictures of a similar party. 

I talked to Munchkin about it today and she went NUTS.  Thought it was the coolest idea she’d ever heard of and so I’ll start planning.  It will probably be at my mother’s house b/c she’s got that incredible yard and now she’s got wonderful flowers.  How much fun would that be???

I think we could do this for a couple hundred dollars.  I’m going to start looking at thrift shops and salvation army for china teacups and saucers.  The girls can take them home.  We’ll serve little sandwiches and petit fours; play little games (I saw these ladies doing paper garden hats – they decorated them with ribbon brims and flowers – they were ADORABLE and how easy that would be!) and take LOTS of pictures.  It’ll be great fun.  And, who knows, maybe somebody will see Alice or the Cheshire cat…. 

2 thoughts on “Sunny Day

  1. We did something like this for Hannah for her 6th birthday in November. I had demi-tea cups and saucers that I wrapped up and sent home with each guest. Inside the tea cup I sent 2 bags of “Children’s Tea” and a few sugar cubes and a little spoon for stirring. Wendy Clayton gave me the demi-tea cups/saucers, but you can find them at thrift stores for next to nothing. In fact, I have a stack of tea cups and saucers that I don’t actually want anymore. They aren’t demi-sized, but you are welcome to them. My Mom gave them to me – she doesn’t want them – and I really have no use for them. I have a set of China and then some obscure tea cups/saucers. If you want them, I will pass them on to you. I will be coming to Belton one Saturday – this coming one or the next one – and can bring them. I’ll take a photo of them tomorrow morning and email you – no hurt feelings if you say no thanks. I’ve just been saving them b/c I haven’t decluttered that closet yet.

    We had a pretty “Fancy” tea – but honestly it’s b/c I just used what I had on hand and spent the money on the food vs. having to make it. That was a really really hard weekend to get through – so I was just glad that it all came together. There was a lot of marital strife going on the days leading up to her birthday party – so you know, honestly – if Hannah hadn’t been so darned excited about the party I’d have cancelled it all together!!!

    But I think this sounds like SO. MUCH. FUN!!

    And that website is SO cute!!1

    Like

  2. Thanks! Yes, I’d love to have them. I think the more mismatched everything is, the more whimsy it will add to the theme. At the Hatter’s tea, nothing matched. It was great fun!

    Call me when you come into town – do you have my cell? If not, drop me an email and I’ll send it to you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.