To Whatever End

I just finished (literally, 3 hours ago) the Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J. Maas. It took me most of the summer and fall to read all 8. In fairness, I did not read straight through until Queen of Shadows. QoS took me a couple of months to get through, but once I committed to it, I read almost nothing else until this morning when I finished Kingdom of Ash (book 8).

It’s been years since I stayed up all night, reading.
Years since I allowed myself to be so enraptured with a story that it consumed (nearly) my every waking thought.
Years since I dreamed about a story.

I started tabbing in this series. So many moments I didn’t want to lose. I read so fast that I consume vast amounts of storytelling, but it’s with a terrible cost of not remembering details after I’ve read them. Names, moments, words spoken, etc. Tabbing slows me down enough to take in the details and not immediately lose them.

Like the fact that during KoA, when she’s screaming through the worlds to get back to Rowan, she flies across the sky and sees a pair of Fae, one very pregnant and one with wings, in a city against the mountains under starlight. UM HELLO VELARIS at Starfall and that, dear one, HAS to by Rhysand and Feyre during A Court of Silver Flames (ACOTAR series).

What a beautiful touch. I’ve seen posts on different social media platforms and in discussion groups (discord, reddit, etc.) that suggest there are a ton of other SJM book easter eggs, if you know what to look for. I wouldn’t pick up the Crescent City references because I haven’t read those yet.

I’ll take the weekend to rest my brain and then I may do a couple of standalones, instead of jumping back into another series, like From Blood and Ash by Jennifer Armentrout.

My TBR is probably glad I’m putting this one behind me for now, but it has to know I’ll go back to it.

What a story.

logo, Aelin's sword and crown, antlers of the Lord of the North

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.